Committees of the Boards:

1. Town Hall Monitors (Town Hall Committee):

Chair: Matt Belsaas, Middle Drive
Monica Thompson-Deal, East Drive
Missy Ellis, East Drive
Tom Gross, Middle Drive

Rentals: Diana Babb and Dorothy Henckel


2. Historic Preservation Committee:

Chair: Desma Belsaas, Middle Drive
Jeff Watt, East Drive
Monica Thompson-Deal, East Drive
Bill Longest, West Drive
Kevin Garing, West Drive
Rich Costello, West Drive
Jeannie Regan-Dinius, Middle Drive
Erik Muehlhausen, West Drive
Jim Leich, West Drive

Woodruff Place Historic Area Preservation Plan

3. Light Brigade (Streetlights):

Chair: Tom Abeel, Middle Drive

Woodruff Place has 74 historic 5-globe light fixtures which were first installed more than 100 years ago. The Town of Woodruff Place owned the fixtures until annexation in 1962 when the City took ownership. In 2012, these historic fixtures were retrofitted with LED lighting technology thanks to a federal grant managed by the City. In exchange for the retrofit, Woodruff Place agreed to maintain them, and a group of volunteers – the Light Brigade – has overhauled 25 fixtures to date. Nine more are scheduled for an overhaul in 2017.

4. 10th and Michigan Fence Committee:

Chair: Charlie Neill, West Drive

A massive concrete fence graces the northern boundary of Woodruff Place and is endearingly referred to as the Tenth Street fence. Suffering the ravages of time, weather and the automobile, sections of the fence had to be removed over time. In the late 1980s, the Woodruff Place Civic League began the long and tedious task of restoring the fence, piece by piece, section by section. The work continues today. The six original entrance curbs were restored around 1990 and the large, ornate posts were reproduced on site.

5. Fountainheads (Fountains):

Chair: Ken Brooks, Middle Drive

6. Block Captains:

Chair: Tessie Lloyd-Jones, West Drive

Street North East North West South East South West
East Drive Sher Burgin Jan Bass Missy Ellis Green Family
Middle Drive Rachel Pendelton Vicki Gross Margaret Arena Vanessa Lowry
West Drive Abbott Family Tessie Lloyd-Jones Doreen Tatnall Katie Neill

7. Town Hall Back Yard Committee:

Chair: Meredeth Brickell, Middle Drive

8. Hospitality Committee:

Chair: Julie Green, East Drive
Doreen Tatnall, West Drive
Mary Beth Salkovsky, East Drive
Kristin Abeel, East Drive

The hospitality committee (4-5 members) is responsible for planning and implementing the food and other supplies needed for certain events in Woodruff Place.  These events have included, but are not limited to:  Civic League general membership meeting and dinner twice per year, Homes Tour “thank you” dinner for volunteers and hosts, Preserving the Future “thank you” reception for donors.   The hospitality committee typically does not cover events such as Casino Night, Easter Egg Hunt, Halloween Party, but planners of other events can request help from the committee if needed.

9. KIB Block Captains:

Chair: Tessie Lloyd-Jones, West Drive

Street North South
East Drive Julie and Kurt Tornquist Missy Ellis
Middle Drive Vicki Gross Diana Babb
West Drive Tessie Lloyd-Jones Doreen Tatnall

10. Crimewatch Committee:

Chair: (Vacant)
Katie Neill (West Drive, North
Billy VantWoud (Middle Drive, North)
(Vacant) (East Drive, North)
Maggie Spencer (West Drive, South)
Ken Brooks/Jenni Acton (Middle Drive, South)
(Vacant) (East Drive, South)


11. Statues and Urns Committee:

Chair: Karen Markman

Event Committees:

Casino Night
Chair: James Ryan

Progressive Dinner
Chair: Kurtis and Jennifer Bowersock

Home and Garden Tour
Chair: Missy Ellis

Flea Market
Chair: Rory Babb

Fountain Ball
Chair: Darrin Gearheart